RSS Feed

Is That A Nightclub?

Friday, September 9, 2011

 Written by Joy Procida

So, here we are out and about on Friday once again. The plan is to head out to Michael’s to pick up some drawing pencils that were on sale for my drawing class and then head over to WCCC. Upon approaching Michael’s in the Annex of Westmoreland Mall, we drove past a new place of business. I say, “What is Hookah?” Cassandra slows the van down to almost a stop as both she and Jill are reading what is on the door: “18 years and older and FDA approved.” I’m thinking this place is a nightclub. But, of course, sometimes I’m a bit slow as Cassandra points out, “I think it is more than a nightclub…..why would they have something like FDA posted on the door?” We all kind of took an interest in wanting to know more about what The Hookah Connection was, so Cassandra Googles it on her phone.

Apparently hookah is an age-old custom from India. It is a combination of smoking a hookah pipe and socializing. Okay, I know exactly what you’re thinking because we all were thinking the exact same thing! But, it’s all legal.

"Hookah Pipe"We also found it amusing that there are house rules. Check these out:

  • Clothing should be dressy. No hats allowed.
  • Do not cause a commotion or behave loudly
  • Refrain from taking photographs
  • No smoking of cigarettes, cigars, or pipes is permitted
  • No competitions
  • Respect others privacy

The one that got us was No Competitions. I’m sure it’s just me, but I didn’t realize that hookah smoking was considered to be a competitive sport??? Help me out here…… Can anyone enlighten me on the competitiveness of hookah smoking?

If anyone is interested more in hookah smoking, here is the link to a Wikipedia site on hookah:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hookah

I don’t know that it would be something that I would want to try, but I did find it to be quite interesting.

You know you’re getting old when you start forgetting things. I totally forgot about my neurologist’s appointment this afternoon. Was sitting in Campy’s in New Stanton enjoying a Pittsburgh Pizoagie (A fresh dough wedge stuffed with your choice of meat, cheese, fries, homemade slaw and tomato) when I should have been at my appointment. Oops! The funny thing is that this is the third time we had to reschedule this appointment. 🙂

That’s all for now! Next week I’ll be posting something about accessibility and places of business.

Joy

2 responses »

  1. Your never too old to learn something new. Really enjoy reading your adventures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

